Sexual Assault and Misconduct Task Force

In June of 2016, President DeGioia established a new Sexual Assault and Misconduct Task Force (“Task Force”) comprised of students, faculty, and staff, many of whom have been long engaged in our Sexual Assault Working Group (SAWG).  

This task force was charged with helping the University understand why sexual assault and misconduct occurs on our campus, what further commitments the University can make to address this problem, and how the institution can increase reporting, knowledge of resources, and trust in our policies and procedures.

The Task Force recommended sustainable long-term approaches and action steps in the prevention of sexual misconduct by focusing on the following areas: reporting, resources and policies, education and bystander intervention, the role of alcohol and drugs, underrepresented and vulnerable populations, and metrics and assessment. 

More information about the charge and the sub-committees can be found here.

The Task Force was co-chaired by Rosemary Kilkenny, J.D. (L’87), Vice President for Institutional Diversity and Equity, Todd Olson, Ph.D., Vice President for Student Affairs, and Olivia Hinerfeld (SFS ’17).

The Task Force submitted a set of recommendations to President DeGioia. The Task Force’s Report, Appendix, and Quick Facts and FAQs may be found below: